European Research Council (ERC) 2019 Starting and Consolidator Grant Calls: Workshop

The aim of the workshop is to provide participants with essential information concerning the submission of an ERC Starting or Consolidator Grant Application. The call deadlines for the ERC Starting Grant and ERC Consolidator Grant are in Autumn 2018 and the beginning of 2019 respectively. The ERC Programme is open to all subject areas ie. bottom up.

The ERC Starting Grant (ERC StG) is aimed at researchers 2-7 years post-PhD who already have a proven excellent track record and important publications. The ERC StG will provide funding of up to 1.5 million Euros (for up to 5 Years) and will support the Principal Investigator to start their own independent research team or strengthen an already existing one.

The ERC Consolidator Grant (ERC-CoG) is aimed at researchers 7-12 years post PhD who can already demonstrate independent working and extensive research, in addition to important publications. The ERC Consolidator Grant will provide a maximum of 2 million EUR (for up to 5 years) and should support the PI in the strengthening of an already existing research group.

Further benchmarks could be monographs, patents, presentations at international conferences or prizes.

Why participate?

ERC funding schemes are extremely competitive. Participants will receive all relevant information about the ERC schemes and key components of a successful application will be discussed e.g. the structure of the application, how to write the proposal and how to calculate the budget. Furthermore it is foreseen that an ERC Panel Member /Evaluator, as well as a successful Starting Grant or Consolidator Grantee, will participate to give tips and advice for the proposal and the interview process. Amy Radlberger and Helmut Schaschl will give a short overview about the ERC schemes themselves and go into further detail about writing the proposal.

When and Where?

The workshop (in English only) will be held in the Alte Kapelle on Thursday 7th June 2018 from 10 am until 12.30 pm.

Access Plan

Please register for this workshop by sending an email to m.wimmer@univie.ac.at. Please note that places are limited.

European Research Council (ERC) 2019 Starting and Consolidator Grant Calls: Workshop

Das Ziel dieses Workshops ist es den TeilnehmerInnen essentielle Information zu einer ERC Starting oder Consolidator Antragsstellung bereitzustellen. Die Call Deadlines für den ERC Starting Grant und Consolidator Grant sind im Herbst 2018 bzw. Anfang 2019 geplant. Das ERC Program ist offen für alle Forschungsbereiche ("bottom up").

Der ERC Starting Grant (ERC-StG) zielt auf ForscherInnen 2-7 Jahre post PhD mit einem exzellenten wissenschaftlichen Lebenslauf und hervorragenden Publikationen. Der ERC-StG fördert Projekte mit einem Maximum von 1.5 Mio. Euro (bis zu 5 Jahre) und soll den/die ProjektleiterIn (Principal Investigator) beim Aufbau eines individuellen Forschungsteams unterstützen oder eine bereits bestehendes stärken.

Der ERC Consolidator Grant (ERC-Con) ist für ForscherInnen 7-12 Jahre post PhD, welche bereits Eigenständigkeit und umfassende Forschungsarbeiten nachweisen können in Verbindung mit herausragenden Publikationen. Der ERC-CoG fördert Projekte mit einem Maximum von 2 Mio. Euro (bis zu 5 Jahre) und soll den/die ProjektleiterIn in der Stärkung eines bereits bestehenden Forschungsteams wesentlich unterstützen.

Weitere Benchmarks sind Monographien, Patente, Vorträge auf internationalen Konferenzen oder Wissenschaftspreise.

 

Warum teilnehmen?


ERC Fördermittel unterliegen einem sehr kompetitiven Auswahlverfahren. In diesem Workshop werden daher den TeilnehmerInnen alle relevanten Informationen zu der ERC Förderschiene vermittelt. Im Besonderen werden den Teilnehmern die wesentlichen Elemente hinsichtlich des Formats, der Struktur und des Budgets eines erfolgreichen ERC Antrages vermittelt. Des Weitern ist geplant einen ERC Panel Member/Evaluator sowie einen erfolgreichen ERC StG oder ERC-Con Grantee zur Veranstaltung einzuladen, welche Tipps und Erfahrungen in der Antragsstellung und beim Prozess des Interviews bereitstellen können. Amy Radlberger und Helmut Schaschl werden einen Überblick über das ERC Förderprogramm geben sowie auf das „proposal writing“ in Detail eingehen.

 

Wo und Wann?

Der Workshop (in Englisch) findet am Donnerstag dem 7. Juni 2018 von 10 bis 12.30 Uhr an der Alte Kapelle am Campus statt.

Zugangsplan

Um einen Anmeldung unter m.wimmer@univie.ac.at wird gebeten, da die Plätze beschränkt sind.